DX Application Performance Management

• 1.  CA Tuesday Tip: APM Monitoring Strategy Document

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Apr 13, 2013 05:39 AM
    CA Wily Tuesday Tip by Hallett German, Sr. Support Engineer for 4/13/2013

When I was an architect, I would include the following as customer deliverables at the end of each engagement trip report:

- Create an APM Monitoring Strategy and an Application Roadmap for APM CE to monitor applications.

However, I am not sure if any customers actually followed through on this. (One did tell me that they already had an application monitoring strategy. Another was proud to mention that they did not.)

This article will deal with the monitoring strategy and next month will cover the application roadmap.

Wikipedia defines strategy "as a high level plan to achieve one or more goals under conditions of uncertainty." That seems to be a great fit to the application performance market where uncertainty and change are the only givens.

So what are some guidelines for this strategy document?

1) It should be a living document. It should be reviewed and updated either quarterly or monthly.
    2) it should be high-level and no more than eight to ten pages.
    3) It should be easily accessible and highly visible throughout the APM Support organization.
    4) It should be flexible to cover changes in an organization.(This would include - organizational changes such as mergers, spin-offs, consolidations, responsibility changes etc.
    - application changes such as new application implementations or old application removals.
    - monitoring responsibilities in a federated environment. (What will your organization will monitor versus your business partners?)
    - Changes in technology (such as the migration of data centers to the cloud, big data, etc.)