DX Application Performance Management

• 1.  Error Detector Capability of CA APM

Posted Apr 22, 2013 05:10 AM
    Hi there,

I am fairly new to the CA APM world and I know from implementing CA APM solution for Demo Environment and POC that
    we have error detection (SQL, code errors etc.) for .net and JAVA environment. However, can we enable error detection
    for other programming languages like PHP, ASP, JSP, C++, C, PL/SQL, SQL etc. I know that using EPAGENT you can surely
    receive metrics for most programming languages. But, I am unsure about error detection, change detection etc. I am certain
    based on the documentation that we can't support Leak Hunter for EPAGENT.

Furthermore, I wish to confirm if we can support the following for JAVA/.net environment:
    deadlocks detection, data exception, protection exception, stack overflow, invalid objects and run-time errors.

Last but not the least, I have always used CA APM for web applications. How matured and capable it is in terms of
    standalone apps (.exe apps) for instance: If I want to monitor an app for soil profiling written in core java + GUI.

Your suggestion and guidance is highly appreciated. I intend to build my skills in regards with CA APM. Hence, I am
    very curious and knowledge-hungry.

Regards,
    NIKUNJ JAIN.

• 2.  RE: Error Detector Capability of CA APM
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Apr 22, 2013 07:24 PM
    We do not provide integration with those languages; we do support JSP.

We're looking at PHP as a possible integration, but you'll want to speak with product team about that.

If your company wants support for a particular language, consider submitting an enhancement via Ideas/Ideation link above. You could also pursue a paid custom solution via CA Global Delivery.

• 3.  RE: Error Detector Capability of CA APM

Posted Apr 22, 2013 09:53 PM
    Thanks for the recommendation Dave.