IT Process Automation

• 1.  Parsing the returned XML from SOAP WS getListValues

Posted May 06, 2013 05:31 PM
    Hi all, getting close to my goal of querying SD for the data I need and then I can move on to actually automating some processes! I have some experience with XPath and XML parsing however I can’t figure out and/or find anything out there on how to parse the relatively hideous return from the WS call, I am returning all attributes as an exercise. Any help would be appreciated … obviously I am befuddled by the formatting. (snippet below)

<soapenv:Body>
    <getListValuesResponse xmlns="http://www.ca.com/UnicenterServicePlus/ServiceDesk">
    <getListValuesReturn xmlns="">&lt;?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?&gt;
    &lt;UDSObjectList&gt;
    &lt;UDSObject&gt;
    &lt;Handle&gt;cnt:02752626B3FA044A9F50020D97CF2F40&lt;/Handle&gt;
    &lt;Attributes&gt;
    &lt;Attribute DataType="2002"&gt;
    &lt;AttrName&gt;pgroups&lt;/AttrName&gt;
    &lt;AttrValue&gt;(0)&lt;/AttrValue&gt;
    &lt;/Attribute&gt;
    &lt;AttrName&gt;userid&lt;/AttrName&gt;
    &lt;AttrValue&gt;donaldB&lt;/AttrValue&gt;
    &lt;/Attribute&gt; …

Thank you!!

David

• 2.  RE: Parsing the returned XML from SOAP WS getListValues

Posted May 06, 2013 06:10 PM
    Hey David,

Which operator are you using? They all give you access to the XML response but depending on the operator there may be another way to get to the results you want.

Thanks,
    Tom

• 3.  RE: Parsing the returned XML from SOAP WS getListValues

Posted May 07, 2013 12:47 PM
    Hi Tom, I am using the Web Services "Invoke SOAP" Method Operator. I am trying to ensure that I am able to query SD for whatever data I will need more or less as a POC before I move forward and start automating my first processes. I want to use WS calls to avoid the overhead of login/logouts by the out of the box Ops. If I had more time I suppose I could "roll my own" parsing hack" but there must be an appropriate method to accomplish this ........