CA Service Management

Expand all | Collapse all

Additional Search Arguments properly formatted query

• 1.  Additional Search Arguments properly formatted query

Posted May 15, 2014 02:31 PM

Hello All, I am new to the CA Service Desk environment and I was asked to figure out how to use the "Additional Search Arguments" to compose a query for finding out all incidents where a  specific use added one or more activities.  I am well versed in SQL Statements but I am not familiar how to construct them in the "Additional Search Arguments" field.  I have been reading the CA_SDM_Tech_Ref_ENU.PDF and it gives out the SQL Table references in the SQL Name to Table and Object but no matter how I write the query I keep getting parse errors.  The last thing I tried was:       act_log.analyst LIKE 'negron'   not sure if the clause WHERE is needed or not.  Any help will be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

• 2.  RE: Additional Search Arguments properly formatted query

Broadcom Employee
    Posted May 16, 2014 11:30 AM

The additional search arguments can be used to query a field that belongs directly to the object you are searching against. For example if you are searching against the "cr" object (associated to "Requests") you can query against any data that is directly located in the "cr" object. In the example you provided you are trying to query against a joined table to the "act_log.analyst", I'm sorry to say that it's not possible to use the "additional search arguments" to query this joined table.

Additionally you will not need the "where" when you construct the query.

• 3.  RE: Additional Search Arguments properly formatted query
    Best Answer

Posted May 19, 2014 11:18 AM

If you look at the alg object you will see that analyst is an SREL to the id of the cnt object. You query is coded to look for a contact with an id (UUID) of 'negron' which, of course, will not work.