Gary_Cherlet

Web Service Design Issue - Help wanted!!!

Discussion created by Gary_Cherlet on Jun 10, 2011
Latest reply on Jun 10, 2011 by Gary_Cherlet
I am seeking help on a design issue.
First, let me just mention, I have some but limited experience with Java and Web Services. I do have extensive experience with TCP/IP and other protocols, UNIX, and writing listeners. Oh! and IDMS for many, many, many years... I can't remember if Jon Gocher is older than me or not.
We have a system which currently runs in a batch mode on the UNIX side of the mainframe. There is a need to change this process to real time, which brings complications.

I'll attempt to describe the requirement
[color=#0627FF]First, if the process was purely manual from a user perspective the scenario would be:
1) At the appropriate time, identified by the user, while processing an ADS app, the user would start up a separate Internet Explorer session and enter a web site address (let's call it FP). (I cannot influence the design of the FP web site.)
The user is presented with icons for their specific type of work or a list of pending work to click.
2) If the user is presented with ICONS and clicks one of them, then the user is shown a window to be completed with a few defaults. I won't pursue this since it is the easy case and the user must continue on the site in a completely manual method.
[b]Here's the real design issue

If a pending work item is clicked, the web site returns a list of summary data of the chosen pending work items to the user. This is on a scrollable screen with many, many fields, where some fields are populated, some fields require data, and some fields can be skipped.
Here's the RUB - Some of these fields, if we could reach into IDMS could be populated automatically. Approximately, 35 fields that the user would not need to re-key.