DX Application Performance Management

• 1.  SysEDG Process Monitoring

Posted Mar 05, 2015 12:27 PM

Hi All,

I have small bug which I am struggling to understand, I am trying to monitor a process and for some reason the SysEDGE agent is constantly reporting a NotReady state for this watch even though it exists in the proc table.

The line from SysEDGE.cf is:

watch process procAlive 'era' 13 0x10 30 absolute = 4 'Era Process' '' 'Process' 'era' 'Alive' critical

The only observation that I can make is we are monitoring a very similar process called "erasrv" which may be causing conflict as begin with the same characters. Does any body have any idea?

Apologies if this is something obvious, I am very new to Spectrum and SysEDGE.

Thanks

• 2.  Re: SysEDG Process Monitoring

Posted Mar 05, 2015 12:49 PM

Any specific reason to monitor in System edge?

Try to monitor in Spectrum RFC

System->Running and monitored process ->RFC

• 3.  Re: SysEDG Process Monitoring

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Mar 05, 2015 01:00 PM

SystemEdge will monitor locally at a faster interval and trap when there is an issue. Spectrum with rfc2790 is based on a polling interval. You can also have corrective actions (restart process, etc.) with SystemEdge.

Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

• 4.  Re: SysEDG Process Monitoring

Posted Mar 05, 2015 01:13 PM

Yes, the reason which Robert has mentioned is the main reasons we are monitoring locally on the device. Also, it is less intensive for the spectrum server as we have over 29K devices. Also, we prefer to insert some call back function to automate resolution if possible.

Does any one have any idea why it is not working?

• 5.  Re: SysEDG Process Monitoring

Posted Mar 05, 2015 01:21 PM

delete the  .mon file in systemedge and restart the agent .once it is done add the process to monitoring

• 6.  Re: SysEDG Process Monitoring

Posted Mar 05, 2015 04:38 PM

Hi Issac,