DX Unified Infrastructure Management

Expand all | Collapse all

logmon messages and clearing alarms

Anon Anon

Anon AnonSep 09, 2013 10:55 PM

• 1.  logmon messages and clearing alarms

Posted Sep 05, 2013 08:21 PM

Good afternoon,

I will start by saying I am no logmon pro, but I have spent the last few hours testing a new profile and I am stumped. I have a log file that I want to search (update mode) for "concurrent clients=X".

My watcher is as follows

Standard

Match Expression - /concurrent.clients=([0-9]?[0-9])/

Message to send on match - concurrent clients=$connections (just for testing)

Varibles

connections $1

Advanced

Send clear alarm *checked*

QoS

QoS on variables - connections *checked*

Alarm

Message subsystem id - 3.1.1

Suppression Key - $PROFILE.$WATCHER

Pattern match threshold - 25

Problem 1: Anytime it runs and finds a match, it sends an alarm, But it sends the entire line of text from the log as the message instead of the message I set it to send.

Problem 2: It seems to send an alarm ANY time it finds a match, not if the variable is 26 as dictated in the Alarm tab.

Problem 3: The alarm that comes across is the default subsystem id, not the one I specified and created in the NAS probe.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Gordon

• 2.  Re: logmon messages and clearing alarms

Posted Sep 05, 2013 08:36 PM

Hi,

Could you post the profile from your config? I think it might be better for trying to figure out what's wrong with it.

-jon

• 3.  Re: logmon messages and clearing alarms

Posted Sep 05, 2013 08:42 PM
      |   view attached

Thank you John,

I am attaching a file as the profile was cut off.

Attachment(s)

txt
    _logmon.cfg.txt   3 KB 1 version

• 4.  Re: logmon messages and clearing alarms
    Best Answer

Posted Sep 05, 2013 09:42 PM

Hi,

I think #2 is because you don't seem to set the threshold in the variable. You should specify the threshold there instead of the alarm tab in this case.