DX Unified Infrastructure Management

• 1.  Monitoring a floating process

Posted May 07, 2009 04:28 AM
    I am trying to set up monitoring on serveral processes that may float on any one of 6 Linux servers which are clustered together.  I need to trigger an alert if a process is not running on any of the 6.  It has been suggested usuing a NAS script.  I have very little experience writing these types of scripts.  Can someone please point me in the right direction.

Thanks

• 2.  Monitoring a floating process

Posted May 07, 2009 11:25 AM
    You could definitely do this in a NAS script, but you might be able to do it with triggers, which is probably simpler if it does what you need.  Here is what I am picturing:
    • Create six triggers for the process down alarm, one for each host
    • Create an AO profile that fires when all six triggers are active
    • Have the profile create a new alarm that says the process is down on all hosts
    If you do not want to see the individual alarms in the alarm list, you should be able to create a preprocessing rule that makes them invisible when they arrive at the NAS.  They should still activate triggers even when they are invisible.

Does that make sense?

Regards,
    Keith

• 3.  Monitoring a floating process

Posted May 07, 2009 01:55 PM
    Michael,