Layer7 API Management

Expand all | Collapse all

Configuring mutual ssl

• 1.  Configuring mutual ssl

Posted Aug 11, 2015 02:23 AM

I'm new to the layer 7 gateway. can soemone please let me know how I set about configuring Mutual SSL?

thanks

dev

• 2.  Re: Configuring mutual ssl

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Aug 11, 2015 11:31 AM
    1. You first need to import a public key, i.e. certificate of your backend destination into the gateway's trust store. You then need to export your gateway's certificate into your backend destination trust store.
      1. To import cert:
        1. Go to Tasks > Manage Certificates
        2. Click Add on the right
        3. Add via file, or via http connection
      2. To export cert:
        1. Go to Tasks > Manage Private Keys
        2. Click on the Private Key called "ssl" and click Properties on the right
        3. Then click View Certificate
        4. Then Click Export

2. You then need to create a user either in your Internal Identity Provider or another IDP, in which the username is the same name of the certificate cn. Then attach the imported certificate to that user.

1. Click the Identity Providers tab in the top left
      2. Right click on the Internal Identity Provider and click Create User
      3. Make sure to make the user name the same name as your destination cn on your imported certificate from the backend.
      4. Make sure to check Define Additional Properties
      5. Click Create
      6. On the next screen go the Certificate tab, and import the same certificate you did from the first steps. Confirm the cn of this cert matches this user's name.

3. You then need to make a listen port require client authentication. In my case I usually make 9443 require client auth.

1. Go to Tasks > Manage Listen Ports
      2. Click on the Default HTTPS (9443) and click Properties on the right
      3. Go the the SSL/TLS Setting tab and make sure Client Authentication dropdown says Required.