We want to add one more field in Resource Finder View in List and Filter layouts. However, we don't want user's settings to lost. Is there any solution? Publishing changes will override user's settings.
are you options for the admin on system level.
Note that there is no selection box so if do Publish or Restore Defaults that is for all views.
What can be done.
Overwrite the user configurations
Ask the users to save their configurations and to reconfigure.
Make the changes and see if the users who have not configured their view get the modifications. That happens when I with admin rights modify a view and look after how my unconfigured personal view looks
As far as I see the last point will do the same as XOGing out and in, because you only change the system view configuration.
Agree with urmas
As per UMAS, there are options.
I would recommend : Do not Publish : and let your users know that a change has been made and they can get the new version in the following manner
If User A does not have any personal configurations on the page ; they will see the new changes the next time they log into the application.
If User B has personal configurations, they can elect to get the system view on their own by going into the configuration and 'Restore Defaults'. This will allow User B to save screenshots of their current personal configurations, then grab the system version and go ahead and make their personal changes again.
Retrieving data ...