Layer7 API Management

• 1.  API Gateway default Policy Assertions missing after new install : "Unknown Assertion"

Posted Oct 01, 2015 09:51 AM

Hi,

I've just starting using the CA API Gateway Policy Manager thick client and am having an "installation" issue (this is my first time using the tool).

Essentially, after installing on my workstation in the default location (to which I do have admin rights; win7 x64 with 8gb), upon loading up the application and connection to my non-production region, I have no default/CA-provided Policy Assertions in the "Identity Providers Tab". (see below)

CA API Gateway - Policy Manager_2015-10-01_14-30-54.png

It's completely empty and when I then open up an existing deployed policy from one of my colleagues, everything in the main working screen shows up as "Unknown Assertion"; basically the underlying policy library doesn't exist so I cannot do anything.  One of my other teammates has the same issue but 2 others do not.

I have been struggling with this for the past day but cannot see why this is happening.  The only clue I have is a difference between the "ssm0.log" files in ".l7tech".

Mine shows this upon boot-up and successful connection to my non-prod region :

Oct 01, 2015 1:35:06 PM com.l7tech.console.security.SecurityProvider refreshPermissionCache

INFO: Loaded 6 permissions.

Oct 01, 2015 1:35:06 PM com.l7tech.console.wc onAuthSuccess

WARNING: Unable to update modular assertions: java.lang.NullPointerException.

Whereas my colleague with all the default Policies shows this :

Sep 18, 2015 6:46:17 PM com.l7tech.console.security.SecurityProvider refreshPermissionCache

INFO: Loaded 6 permissions.

Sep 18, 2015 6:46:17 PM com.l7tech.console.policy.h run

INFO: Registering remote assertion com.l7tech.external.assertions.splitjoin.JoinAssertion

INFO: Registering remote assertion com.l7tech.external.assertions.splitjoin.SplitAssertion