Clarity

Expand all | Collapse all

5-point Risk Assessment Scale

• 1.  5-point Risk Assessment Scale

Posted Mar 07, 2016 10:04 PM

Our organization is looking to migrate to a PMBOK scaled for measuring our risks.  Which unfortunately, Clarity is hard coded to 1,2,3 scale for the Low, Medium, High. 

My first thought is to create a very low (.5) and a very high (3.5) so we can have the full range. But I wasn't sure if anyone has implemented this before and had some insights into best practices.

I am considering creating a new attribute to support this scale (1-5) and adjust the math to support, but not sure how to update the Risk Score setup screen to read the new attributes.

Also, any tips for the Risk Score setup would be awesome!  Unfortunately it is still assuming the three levels (L,M,H).

We are on SaaS, upgrading to 14.3 tomorrow!

Thank you in advanced, and please be kind I'm still learning

• 2.  Re: 5-point Risk Assessment Scale

Posted Mar 08, 2016 07:02 AM

Hello Nikky,

As per the out-of-the-box CA Clarity PPM functionality, the values for the attribute - Risk Level are set to be Low (1), Medium (2) and High (3), and the attribute - Risk Score is a mathematically calculated field that sums up all the Risk Levels depending on the values selected and generates a final Risk Score of the Project. You can try to create a custom sub-object - Risk_Custom under the master object - Project, where you can create custom attributes for the Risk Levels and a mathematically calculated field - Risk Score. I have not really worked on such a customization in the past, but, just felt like sharing my views on this.

Suhail.

• 3.  Re: 5-point Risk Assessment Scale

Posted Mar 08, 2016 08:12 AM