Clarity

• 1.  Alerts for Project Dependencies

Posted Nov 11, 2016 05:25 PM

Hello all,

I wanted to reach out to the PPM community and see if anyone had already developed a clean way to set up alerts for project dependencies in PPM. I'm very new to PPM so my knowledge of what it can and can't do it limited so please excuse me if I ask a question with an obvious answer. I know how to link a task, milestone, etc from one project to another and I have found a few different ways to show those dependencies. What I have not not been able to figure out is how to create some sort of visual alert (flag, action item, etc.) or email to let me know that a dependent task on another project has missed or changed it's date and now my project is affected. Surely someone out there (much smarter than I) has already figured this out and wouldn't mind sharing their solution. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 2.  Re: Alerts for Project Dependencies

Posted Nov 11, 2016 05:41 PM

Hi Jamie.

We're an Open Workbench shop - so our current process today is for PMs to monitor this via their Dependency Violation views. 

Can you view dependent project tasks at a prgram level?

Dependancy views hard to use

The data is there in the data model. On a recent program I lobbied to create a suite of reports and automated alerts to address exactly what you're looking for but was not supported. Best I can do is vote up Ideas here for CA to add this capability. 

CA Gantt Chart - indicating schedule violation like in Open Workbench

Provide Dependency Violation & Has Issue, Risk or Change Request Booleans on Task Object Data Providers <-- with this one could easily produce Dependency Violation views by project, master project, program, portfolio, obs, etc - all from object views without code development.