Service Virtualization

• 1.  Losing the purpose of SV??

Posted Feb 09, 2017 12:43 PM

Will I loose the core concept of Service Virtualization if I use the DevTest DB to store real-time data for my virtual service?

Eg: I have 2 services, a PUT and a GET. What if I store and map the data coming from the PUT in the DB and use that data in the GET? Am I creating a real service? Am I losing the whole purpose of SV?

Please provide your comments.

• 2.  Re: Losing the purpose of SV??

Posted Feb 09, 2017 01:17 PM

Hi,

Some would argue yes. However from a developers point of view, I would prefer to say that you are using the product in a new way. I have argued that is easier to develop a virtual service if you have knowledge of the requests and the responses. As opposed to having a spare server, installed the target environment, coded a responder and deployed it.
    So by way of an example: I am a UI developer, I know the requests I am making and I know the responses I am expecting. It is easy to generate a virtual service based off of that information. The alternative is to learn how to write, test, deploy and maintain a responder. Do I want to know how Apache/Tomcat/WebSphere/WebLogic work - probably not - or just create a simple virtual service to give a response.

So whilst your application of DevTest is not a standard use case - I commend you.
    Yes you have created a real service - but you let DevTest write, build and deploy it for you - and you didn't have to write any code - except maybe to access the database.

Bravo

• 3.  Re: Losing the purpose of SV??
    Best Answer

Posted Feb 10, 2017 10:08 AM

^^ +1 AndrewHaigh

BJG, based on your description, I would say you are not violating the principles of SV. Rather, I submit that you are implementing the concept of a stateful virtual service without using the OOTB stateful model pattern provided by the VSE.