Service Virtualization

• 1.  Getting started on Devtest Service Virtualization with IMS Connect

Posted Apr 05, 2017 02:29 PM

Hi all,

For the first time, we are asked to try to develop a virtual service that will involve using IBM's IMS Connect. I have no experience with IMS Connect and I was wondering if anybody out here could point out some guidelines, or tutorials?

Even better yet, is there a sample program or project I could use to experiment/practice to make a DevTest recording or any sort of virtual service involving IMS Connect?

I am reading all I can through IBM's knowledge base and I am a bit overwhelmed trying to understand all the different IMS technology. Any advice or guides would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

• 2.  Re: Getting started on Devtest Service Virtualization with IMS Connect
    Best Answer

Posted Apr 05, 2017 04:47 PM

Sorry, I do not have a sample project to share.  Think of the IMS Connect virtualization as following a basic virtualization pattern except that some additional configuration is required to describe the transport and data characteristics that IMS is expecting. This picture is scrubbed a bit.  The actual content is not that important. It is here to help develop an understanding of the flow:

1) The consumer app needs to send its request to DevTest.

2) DevTest needs to be able to take the raw payload and map it to a copybook -- most likely.

3) And, then convert copybook to XML so it can display properly in the VSI.

Chances are, you will need to focus most on the copybooks to get the IMS Connect transport recorded and ready for playback.

Key elements to configure:

a) Identify the endpoints. The service will need these for recording and Live Invocation.