AutoSys Workload Automation

Expand all | Collapse all

Migration form TWS to Autosys

• 1.  Migration form TWS to Autosys

Posted Apr 20, 2017 06:08 AM

I want to migrate my Jobs which are Scheduled on TWS right now to Autosys. need some suggestion.

• 2.  Re: Migration form TWS to Autosys

Posted Apr 20, 2017 07:22 AM

My suggestion. Don't they are 2 different products. TWS scheduling is NOTHING like AutoSys, nothing good will come from treating Autosys like TWS.

just my 3 cents and expert advice 

Good luck with your choice.. 

• 3.  Re: Migration form TWS to Autosys

Posted Apr 20, 2017 07:44 AM

Hey Steve,

Yes they are different job Scheduler. 

However, this is my project requirement I am suppose to do that. can you help me with some suggestion on how should I proceed as I am completely new to this.

• 4.  Re: Migration form TWS to Autosys

Posted Apr 20, 2017 07:47 AM

I am helping..tell them you can get the jobs out but they need to rethink the jobflow. AutoSys does not have a jnext day or end of cycle at midnight .

the jobs do not need to be killed at midnight etc. It's a complete rethink. are you an Autosys person or a TWS person? 

I cannot do the job for you but i can give you THE best piece of advice I can. DO NOT do a 1:1 conversion. You will regret it.

Steve C.

• 5.  Re: Migration form TWS to Autosys

Posted Apr 20, 2017 07:55 AM

I am new to both but I have better understanding of Autosys then TWS. Yes, I am not doing 1:1 conversion, so far what i am thinking to do is club the Jobs inside the box based on the days of week it runs. The jobs which i am dealing with can be classified as Daily,Weekly,Monthly and yearly. 

Currently, I am working on Daily running jobs, just wanted to know what are the Important Points to keep in mind while doing Migration.

• 6.  Re: Migration form TWS to Autosys

Posted Apr 20, 2017 08:00 AM