Layer7 API Management

• 1.  API Gateway assertion based on header information

Posted May 02, 2017 07:57 AM

Hi,

I have created a REST webservice and added it to API gateway. I am trying to restrict access to the webservice based on the header information coming from request. 

I am using Regular Expression Properties and checking for the username in header information. In the next step I am trying to check if the username matches with particular format/name if its success then direct to the webserivce else send error message.

I am new to the API management and looking for following things:
    1.  How regular expression works and i do not see much information in the documentation. In this case i want to restrict access based on the user name. Please see the screenshot 1.
    2.  I have configured the logs but not able to see anything in the logs in API gateway, do I need to configure anything else?

3. How to debug the assertions step by step in API Gateway?

I do not want to user OAuth or HTTP basic authorization for different reasons.

What i am doing is not the right way,  then please guide me.

Note: Please see the screenshots.

Thanks.

• 2.  Re: API Gateway assertion based on header information
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted May 02, 2017 06:06 PM

Good afternoon,

I've reviewed your post and there are a few modifications to what you are attempting to do.

1.  How regular expression works and i do not see much information in the documentation. In this case i want to restrict access based on the user name. Please see the screenshot 1.

Response: To check if value exists for a particular context variable, use the Compare assertion to check if the variable is blank and/or that the variable is equal to johnny. You can remove the Regular expression assertion from the first line.

Assertion XML snippet:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>