Rally Software

• 1.  How do I not lose access to Test Cases when closing a Project?

Posted Sep 12, 2017 10:53 AM
      |   view attached

Hi,

I'm a SQA consultant working with a client's instance of Agile Central. Last year I had created a significant number of test cases for them that were tied to User Stories. They were organized:

TC > US > F > I > T

Test Case > User Story > Feature > Initiative > Project(?)

When we closed the Project (T) we lost complete and total access to the test cases and user stories associated with it.

Is this expected behavior? Should we organize the Test Cases differently? I know there is the Test Plan "functionality", but this is not how the TCs were created for this project. Do They need to be added to a Test Plan to not lose access to them when the project is closed?

I've attached the Portfolio Hierarchy in case that would help as well.

• 2.  Re: How do I not lose access to Test Cases when closing a Project?

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Sep 12, 2017 10:21 PM

Hi Dan,

That is expected behavior. Work items inside a closed project are not accessible even Subscription admin. So if you still need to use the same Test cases, you could copy them then change their project scope as which you still need them.

The articles below outline more detail. 

Manage Test Cases | CA Agile Central Help 

Set Up Your Teams | CA Agile Central Help 

I hope this helps.

Kun.

• 3.  Re: How do I not lose access to Test Cases when closing a Project?

Posted Sep 13, 2017 09:54 AM

I mean, it doesn't REALLY help. The "Copy test cases" solution is not a solution, it's a workaround of a poor design.

Copying of a test case puts "Copy Of..." in the title which has to be manually corrected.

Then you have to edit the relationship of that TC to move it out of the project, which I don't even know all of the steps necessary to do that.