DX Unified Infrastructure Management

• 1.  Is there a way to programmatically activate a monitor ?

Posted Sep 12, 2017 11:38 AM

Hi,

I have created a probe using the Java SDK 2.5.0. 

In my scenario, a deployed probe should always have a default profile. To have the profile "auto-created", I edited the ".cfx" file in the probe´s maven project to declare it (under "resources"). It works.

This default profile, by its turn, should have some elements. Which elements depend on the environment and are created by the probe itself (class ProbeMain, method "getUpdatedInventory(...)"). It also works just fine.

However, I could not find a way for the probe to activate the monitors associated with each element. They must be enabled manually (through AC or IM, option "publish data") or using the "pu" utility. I would like to have the probe decide on its own whether or not a specific qos data should be published.

Is it possible ?  If not, is it by desgn (as I suspect) ?

I am new to UIM so any input would be welcomed.

Regards,

Sergio

• 2.  Re: Is there a way to programmatically activate a monitor ?

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Sep 12, 2017 01:12 PM

Can you provide more details on how you want the probe to "decide" what to publish?

your code can decide what QOS to publish .

There is as a rule no samples or OOTB code to auto enable monitoring.

• 3.  Re: Is there a way to programmatically activate a monitor ?

Posted Sep 12, 2017 02:41 PM

Hi Gene,

Can you provide more details on how you want the probe to "decide" what to publish?

An example to illustrate what I want: a probe to collect filesystem usage data (yes, I know about cdm, this is just a simple example).

My goal is to make a probe that can completely self-configure after deployment.