Ok - been round this corner before, but this time, looks like we can actually do this. What? Delete Time Reporting periods. Yes, the capability has been there before, but the inertia has been against us, here.
So, when deleting time reporting periods, what is affected? If I recall correctly:
- all investments in the affected time periods must be inactive
- timesheets from the deleted time periods are deleted
- hours from the time entry slice are deleted
What is not affected?
- booked hours posted to actual sum curves (slices)
So, until I delete investments, I should still be able to continue reporting actuals vs. demand on projects run during the deleted time periods. Why would I want to do this?
- want to reduce size of DB, speed up upgrades
- want to maintain reporting on historic projects, as owners of the data aren't yet ready to delete their investments from system
- in other words, I don't need the timesheets, but I do need the project data
Question: Have I recalled this correctly? Did I miss anything?
BTW: Searched DocOps - found nothing on this topic. If it's there, it's not findable using
- time reporting period
- delete time reporting period
- or by being on Time Reporting Periods page and selecting "Help" - (no contextual based reference)