CA Service Management

• 1.  i want to configure BSI database on linux server from scratch.

Posted Oct 13, 2017 01:55 AM

Hi,

I want to create BSI database on linux server from scratch. Any detailed information. Also How many mount points required to build initially ?

• 2.  Re: i want to configure BSI database on linux server from scratch.

Posted Oct 13, 2017 09:21 AM

Hi Sunil,

I am not a BSI engineer, BUT, I did take a look at the docs for the product and I found the following page:

Manually Create the Database - CA Business Service Insight - 8.3.5 - CA Technologies Documentation 

Not sure if that is of any help to you or not.  

Scott_Karbiner any ideas on this one?

Thanks,

Jon I.

• 3.  Re: i want to configure BSI database on linux server from scratch.
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Oct 13, 2017 09:52 AM

Thanks for the heads-up on this question, Jon.

Sunil,

Assuming that you have Oracle installed and ready to go on Linux (probably 12.x) then normally you can have the product create the database by:

1) copying the BSI install image directory structure over,

2) running dos2unix on everything to make sure that the files are in the correct format, and

3) then running SetupDB/InstallDB/Main.sh

However, since you mention manually installing the database, I assume that you want to manually run DBCA and create the database, then go through all the steps in the main.sh script to build your schema manually. This is a good idea and I often do this to make sure that everything runs through fine and if you do encounter an error you can fix it before continuing on.

To do that, when you run DBCA you can create the database with most of the Oracle defaults. The only thing we change is to increase the number of sessions from 300 to 600 (these would be in the advanced options when you create the database). In a production environment this is often raised even higher.