DX Application Performance Management

• 1.  Restarting an APM Cluster

Posted Oct 17, 2017 12:38 PM

So with our move from SLES to RHEL, found that the server init script behave differently.  We don't have a way to correlate server start/stops and did depend on sleeps.

5:00   MOM - EMCtrl.sh stop and WVCtrl.sh stop called

Sleep timer for 30 minutes   

EMCtrl.sh start; WVCtrl.sh start

5:05    Collectors - EMCtrl.sh stop

Sleep timer for 15 minutes

EMCtrl.sh start

5:10

Postgres Stopped - pg_ctrl stop

Postgres Start - pg_ctrl start

So at 5:30, assuming that the database and collectors have had 10 minutes each to start, the MOM processes start.

Now with RHEL, the sleeps in the server init sequence will actually delay the server init.

The question is, does anyone have a script, application or other that will do an APM cluster restart in a controlled manner?

• 2.  Re: Restarting an APM Cluster
    Best Answer

Posted Oct 17, 2017 03:34 PM

I am not very good with scripting but when there was a requirement to automate this process I create following scripts to stop and start Cluster

Best practice is to

Stop: Stop MOM first than Collector.

Start: Start Collector first then MOM. 

Stop EM script

for i in MOM_Hostname Collector1_Hostname Collector2_Hostname Collector3_Hostname Collector3_Hostname
    do
    echo "Started on $i"
    ssh $i "cd /opt/CA/APM/10.5.1.8/bin;./EMCtrl.sh stop;"
    sleep 5
    done

Start EM Script

for i in Collector1_Hostname Collector2_Hostname Collector3_Hostname Collector3_Hostname
    do
    echo "Started on $i"
    ssh $i "cd /opt/CA/APM/10.5.1.8/bin;./EMCtrl.sh start;"
    sleep 5
    done
    sleep 100
    for j in MOM_Hostname
    do
    echo "Started on $j"
    ssh $j "cd /opt/CA/APM/10.5.1.8/bin;./EMCtrl.sh start;"
    sleep 5
    done

if you don't have rsync installed you have top provide password for every EM.

• 3.  Re: Restarting an APM Cluster

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Oct 17, 2017 03:50 PM

Junaid,