Clarity

Expand all | Collapse all

Integration with MS Project

• 1.  Integration with MS Project

Posted Oct 19, 2017 03:57 PM

I am a new user. My company has purchased the Clarity PPM. I have over 10 years experience with Microsoft project. I am having difficulty with the Uploading and downloading of project schedules. I was told in training that I should be able to create a Microsoft Project schedule with tasks, durations, and dependencies, and then upload them. As long as I do not try to assign resources I should be good. Is this true? And once my project schedule is created. Can I download and continue to modify in MS project?

• 2.  Re: Integration with MS Project
    Best Answer

Posted Oct 19, 2017 04:31 PM

Hi Floyd. Welcome!

A great place I always start is with the documentation.

Here's a link to the Microsoft Project integration install documentation: 

Integrate CA PPM with Microsoft Project (MSP) or Open Workbench (OWB) - CA PPM - 15.3 - CA Technologies Documentation 

Here's a link to the Using Microsoft Project documentation: 

Manage Projects with Microsoft Project (MSP) - CA PPM - 15.3 - CA Technologies Documentation 

I can also recommend the CA Education Web Based Training modules: 

OnDemand CA PPM 15.x: Microsoft Project Integration 200 

HTH.

• 3.  Re: Integration with MS Project

Posted Oct 19, 2017 04:51 PM

Ok I have completed all the steps mentioned for integration. I can create a MS project schedule and I can upload and down load it into CA. So here is my issue. First If I create a task in CA it defaults to a Milestone. I do not want to go to every task and uncheck the box. So how do I change the default? Next if I modify the MS project file and upload it I have had the CA app crash on me. Is there a way in CA PPM view to cut and paste a block of tasks?

• 4.  Re: Integration with MS Project

Posted Oct 19, 2017 05:14 PM

My understanding is the currently tasks cannot be "grid posted" That only works in Cost plans.