Automic Workload Automation

• 1.  Passing paremeters to a Notification object

Posted Oct 15, 2014 09:40 AM
    Friends,
    do you think you could help me solve this problem?

Here's the scenario:
    from a workflow object, we need to send an email notification to users but it should contain the stack trace of a failed execution of a previous task in the workflow when that happens.

What I'm struggling with is how to pass parameters to a Notification object.

I'm new to UC4 and would appreciate your help.

Thanks.

• 2.  Passing paremeters to a Notification object

Posted Oct 15, 2014 10:28 AM
    Look at using the PUT_ATT SUBJECT and PUT_ATT CALL_TEXT Script Function in the Process tab of the Notification object.

• 3.  Passing paremeters to a Notification object

Posted Oct 15, 2014 10:56 AM

To pass parameters from another Object to the Notification you have the alternatives to hand them via Object-Variables or PUT_READ_BUFFER/READ:

Another way would be let the Notification pull the information needed. E.g. by determining the RunID of its activator or predecessor (SYS_ACT_PARENT_NR / SYS_ACT_PREV_NR) and then read the report (PREP_PROCESS_REPORT).

I would call the Notification from the Post-Conditions tab of the task properties in the workflow. If you call the Notification in the end of the Workflow, I would find it hard to determine witch task fails.

• 4.  Passing paremeters to a Notification object

Posted Oct 16, 2014 09:23 AM
    Guenter, thanks for helping.

I am actually using a VARA object. I am putting some content into that object at the "Post Process" of a JMS job, and then trying to read that content at the "Process" tab on the "Script" object.

But that is not working. What could I be missing?

Here's the code:
    At the "Post Process" of the JMS job:
    :PUT_VAR VARA.COQ1, "CONTENT", "this content is from post process"

At the "Process" tab of the Script:
    :SET &var_content# = GET_VAR(VARA.COQ1,'CONTENT')