DX Unified Infrastructure Management

Expand all | Collapse all

CA UIM Installation

• 1.  CA UIM Installation

Posted May 07, 2018 07:57 AM

Hi All,

I am new to CA UIM and planning to install UIM in UT now.

Please help me with the below queries (OS: RHEL 7 and DB: Oracle).

1. I have installed Oracle Client on UIM Server as we have Oracle DB as database. Do I still need to install "Instant Client" as mentioned in below URL?

https://docops.ca.com/ca-unified-infrastructure-management/8-2/en/installing/pre-installation-planning/linux-and-oracle

Please refer to “Oracle Database Prerequisites” section.

2. What are other pre-requisite software need to be installed on UIM/UMP Servers (We are installing it on RHEL 7.x)?

CA documentation is bit confusing and not clear to me.

Thank you.

Regards,

Rajashekar

• 2.  Re: CA UIM Installation

Broadcom Employee
    Posted May 07, 2018 08:33 AM

It is not recommended to have the database on the same server as the primary UIM as they are both very IO intensive

and this will impact performance.

However where ever the primary UIM server in installed the instant client must be installed as well.

The data_engine currently can only use the instant client.

• 3.  Re: CA UIM Installation

Posted May 07, 2018 08:48 AM

Thank you Gene. We are using a separate server for oracle DB.

I see an old installation in our environment where the the oracle.conf file located at /etc/ld.so.conf.d is having the oracle client entry (see below) instead of instant client and is working fine. 

/app/oracle/client/12c/12.1.0.2/lib

As per our unix admin, they support only the RHEL tested software packages. Is there any package available for instant client in RedHat repository?

Our OS version: RHEL 7.5 64 bit.

if it is not available in RedHat repository, from where I can download this? please suggest.

Rajashekar

• 4.  Re: CA UIM Installation

Posted May 07, 2018 10:10 PM