Automic Workload Automation

• 1.  Console level program interaction using Automic?

Posted May 16, 2018 02:17 AM

Hi All,

I am just starting out with Automic. I know that Automic isn't designed to interact with GUI elements but what about a console application where you have set of interactions to achieve some task?

For Ex, A console application running on a Unix machine prompts for login first, next some menu selections using number keys , then finally displays some data which is to be captured by Automic. Is this kind of interaction possible in Automic?

Specifically, I need this solution for QAD ERP Application. QAD-1

QAD-2

Thanks.

• 2.  Re: Console level program interaction using Automic?

Posted May 16, 2018 01:43 PM

Hi

no there is no interaction possible neither with GUI nor with console programs.

You can do with automic everything you can do on a console (except interactive task - e.g. on WIN runas will prompt for a PW, thats not useable with automic)

So if the program has a batch mode, it will work.

cheers, Wolfgang

• 3.  Re: Console level program interaction using Automic?

Posted May 17, 2018 02:47 AM

Thanks for the reply FrankMuffke 

Is there any way where commands written in batch file or PS does this type of automation?

Commands would be like:
    1. open the application
    2. enter username > press enter
    3. enter password > press enter etc..

So having saved this in a batch file or a ps script, if we directly run this script then can we achieve the above task?

I know of a way where we can use Sendkeys method in powershell. But this doesn't seem much reliable.

Any other way around?

Thanks

• 4.  Re: Console level program interaction using Automic?

Posted May 18, 2018 05:22 AM

Hi.

So having saved this in a batch file or a ps script