Symantec Privileged Access Management

• 1.  CA PAM Password View Policy not working

Posted Jan 16, 2019 04:19 AM

Hello All,

I am new to CA PAM and I am currently stuck with "Password View Policy". I have enabled certain options,

*Change Password On View.

*Change Password On Connection End.

*Check-out / Check-in. 

*Force check-in: 5mins

and added to a specific server account for test and given access to a testuser.

As per the policy once the Testuser access the and ends the connection the password should change right?

But the password is not changing automatically. Please guide if i am doing it wrong and tell me the steps i should follow.

Thanks & regards,

Rushikesh Pattankar.

• 2.  Re: CA PAM Password View Policy not working

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jan 16, 2019 10:00 AM

Hi Rushi, The individual options are discussed on page https://docops.ca.com/ca-privileged-access-manager/3-2-3/EN/implementing/protect-privileged-account-credentials/set-up-password-composition-and-view-policies/establish-password-view-policies/create-a-password-view-policy

If you have check-out/check-in selected, that should dominate. At the time the password is checked out, you should see a job (Credentials > Manage Targets > Scheduled Jobs) getting created that will change the password at the time controlled by the "Force check-in after" setting, if it's not checked in earlier. If you want the password to be changed on connection end, then just use that option. Another question would be whether a password change was attempted but failed.

• 3.  Re: CA PAM Password View Policy not working
    Best Answer

Posted Jan 17, 2019 03:44 AM