CA Service Management

Expand all | Collapse all

How to pull input data from a Catalog form and transfer it to the description field in a SDM ticket

• 1.  How to pull input data from a Catalog form and transfer it to the description field in a SDM ticket

Posted Jan 16, 2019 01:09 PM

I am new to service catalog and doing some experimentation. I have copied the forms associated with report and issue. I have noticed that in the “Your Information” box the end user can modify the name emailID and phone number fields which are pulled from the MDB. This information is captured (as modified) in Service Catalog and shows in the open requests Requested Services details.

What I would like to do, is capture that information and appended (Name, EmaiID, Phone number) to the description entered on the Issue Information box that is transferred to service desk manager when the request is submitted. So far, I have not found a way to do that probably because I don’t really understand which variables this is captured in.

• 2.  Re: How to pull input data from a Catalog form and transfer it to the description field in a SDM ticket

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jan 17, 2019 03:01 AM

Good Morning Ted.

Please check the below (as a possible way) to get you further on this request.

1. SC-login (spadmin)
    2. Catalog/Forms/Forms
    3. CA Catalog Content/Service Management Forms/Issue Details
    >Your Information
    >>Name=$(_.user.commonName)
    >>EmailID=$(_.user.email)
    >>Phone number=$(_.user.phone[0])

4. What you can to next is to build a script on the form.
    And in that script, set the content for the 'Description' component based on these 3 variables.
    Java script function: ca_fdSetTextFieldValue(ca_fd.formId,'<_id>','....');

Kind regards, Louis van Amelsfort.

• 3.  Re: How to pull input data from a Catalog form and transfer it to the description field in a SDM ticket

Posted Jan 17, 2019 08:35 AM

Thanks Louis,