AnsweredAssumed Answered

Don't Publish an Object-Based Portlet

Question asked by emcbride on Aug 20, 2010
Latest reply on Aug 20, 2010 by emcbride
Has anyone else experienced the issue of Publishing an object-based portlet and having it reset ALL the user object views back to default?

I was under the impression that by using the Publish button from the views of the object itself would reset everyone else's views BUT CA Support just informed me that the Publish button on ANY object-based portlet will reset the views for everyone on the OBJECT.

This caused quite a stir for our user community because many people spent quite a bit of time configuring their Project list view.

Here is what happened:

1. Created a new object-based portlet using the Project object.
2. Configured the portlet and hit the Publish button.
3. All users' Project views were reset and they were VERY angry.

Common logic would be that the Publish button on a portlet would ONLY AFFECT THE PORTLET, not the ENTIRE OBJECT.

Just curious to see if this has "bitten" anyone else.

Thanks

Outcomes