Clarity

• 1.  Projects Object

Posted May 24, 2012 03:26 PM
    Hello all,

I am new to Clarity and I have a requirement set forth by our company:

Requirement:
    To create a portlet that shows projects that have been set to approved status from today -7 days

Problem:
    I need to be able to look at each project and see when status was set to approved, using a portlet on a dashboard.

Here is what I have tried to do logically:
    I am trying to create a field on the Project object called Approval Date as a Date field with a default readonly value of 1/1/1900.
    I would then create a process that will [on change of status to approved] set that Approval Date field to [Current Date] once the process is run.
    Then the portlet would have a power filter on it to look at that field and do a compare.

I can create the attribute on the Project Object fine, but when I go into the Step Action it is not showing up on the drop down when I choose project.thisproject.

Please any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

• 2.  RE: [CA Clarity General Discussion] Projects Object

Posted May 24, 2012 04:09 PM
    Good afternoon,

Have you thought about using the cmn_audits table? Use the pre-existing ‘inv_investments.Status’ field, set it up to create an audit entry when a value is created/edited, then use a max(created_date) from the audit table when the status is created/edited (see mock-up below), to display as the portlet filter criteria. Reference this (or a similar query structure) in using the object_id from the cmn_audits table (likely as a join).

select object_id, max(created_date)

from cmn_audits
    where object_code = 'project'
    and attribute_code = 'status'
    and value_after = '1'

group by object_id

If the Status value is ever changed, it will update the cmn_audits table to reflect that, and thusly update the approval date. If you just want the first approval date, you’d select min(created_date) instead of max.

Hopefully that helps.