Symantec Access Management

• 1.  Disaster Recover of SiteMinder

Posted Sep 26, 2012 03:44 PM
    Hi,
    We are putting together a disaster recovery plan for all critical applications. The plan is to identify what steps need to be taken to bring PRE-PROD environment up and running in case PROD is not available.

I am new to SiteMinder. It does not look straight forward to me based on my understanding of SM.

Web agents, resources being protected, user repositories (Active Directory, LDAP, Databases) etc. are all location specific on the network. In otherwords, in case of a disaster, the applications, their databases may switch to their backup environments.

In this case, how can we bring SiteMinder up to protect the applications with out reconfiguring every thing? We are using version 6.0 currently, we go to 12.5 soon. I heard there is an export option available in 12.5. Even if we take a BACKUP of the export, but if the applications themselves are changing their network locations, how come the EXPORT be useful?

I may be missing some thing here. There must be a way to do Disaster Recovery. I appreciate if some one can explain the solution or point to some resources which explain the plans for DR.

Thanks in advance,
    Ram

• 2.  RE: Disaster Recover of SiteMinder

Posted Sep 26, 2012 04:13 PM
    Guys, correct me if i mentioned anything wrong.

Hi Ram,

In industry usually, setup will be done at two different locations. If one location goes down, they will bring up the operations using second location. So, its kind of setting up two complete environments in different locations.

To answer your question, we used replication of data so that if one goes down, other location will have the info and it works just fine when brought up. Yes there is export option available and you can export siteminder data. But for disaster recovery, siteminder is not the only component.