DX Application Performance Management

• 1.  Web Services and transaction tracing

Posted Nov 27, 2012 03:41 PM
    I'm new to Introscope and have a question about the way Web Services are being reported.

An HTTP request ultimately invokes 3 web services – WS1, WS2, and WS3. We want to use WILY transaction trace to identify how long it takes to run each web service. After running WILY transaction trace, instead of seeing the individual traces for WS1,2,3, WILY will report one web service has been called 3 times for the traced request. And the web service name picked by WILY is random, and can be different after each server restart.

I "inherited" the current set up so I don't know if the product is configured wrong of if this is a bug. Any insight would be appreciated!

Thanks!

-Scott

• 2.  RE: Web Services and transaction tracing

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Nov 28, 2012 02:47 PM
    I've never heard or seen an APM agent randomly generating names for web services. I'm hoping someone else will also comment on this.

Can you attach a screenshot (without any identifying items) that you can share with us?

-Hiko

• 3.  RE: Web Services and transaction tracing

Posted Nov 29, 2012 10:06 AM
    Thanks for the reply Hiko, I am working on getting some more clarity regarding this and some screen shots as well.

• 4.  RE: Web Services and transaction tracing

Posted Dec 07, 2012 01:53 PM
      |   view attached
    Here is a good example of what we are seeing. The call "order.jsp" is one that we know hits many different Web Services, but the transaction trace only shows 2. They are actually the same one - and not involved in this transaction.

• 5.  RE: Web Services and transaction tracing

Posted Dec 10, 2012 01:08 PM
    Scott,