Jenn_Rinella

Tuesday Tip for a Friday:  Update of The PMO Pitfalls.

Discussion created by Jenn_Rinella on Aug 2, 2013
Latest reply on Aug 5, 2013 by navzjoshi00
Best way to avoid problems with a PMO Upgrade/install:

As with any complex Clarity based install, the PMO has its fingers in enough areas of the application that if your organization is not able to follow the recommendations outlined here, you may want to bring in Services for a consultation.

The PMO Install comes down to a basic assumption:

All object views for the objects that the PMO touches are assumed to be at the OOTB factory setting system state – meaning no configuration changes exist at all on the objects in question

That is never really the case except with a completely brand new implementation.

To facilitate that, the following really should be done for any PMO upgrade (and let’s just assume that this is in conjunction with a Clarity upgrade happening at the same time)


Upgrade Clarity first (if this in conjunction with a PMO upgrade)

Bring Clarity services back up but do not let users back into the system

XOG out via the client command prompt based XOG utility – you cannot use the UI XOG client for object XOG and since it is not formally support it should not be used for any XOG functionality unless specifically requested – the following objects from the upgraded clarity instance
o
Assignment
o
Baseline
o
Cost and Benefit Plan
o
GL Allocation and Resource Credit
o
Investments
o
Portfolio
o
Project
o
Idea*
o
Application*
o
Asset*
o
Change Request*
o
Issue*
o
Risk*
o
Other Work*
o
Product*
o
Service*
o
Resource
o
Task
o
Team


Apply anything in the current version of the PMO that has not been applied

o
At least the App service still has to be up for this, but they should make sure that the system is still more or less locked down to end users as they will be upset if they see that their objects view changed
o
The only way around that is to also apply all the objects in the PMO Add In list whether they are in Upgrade Ready status or not at this step… Services and the customer could make the call here…


Upgrade/Install the PMO

Bring Clarity Services back up – but do not let users back into the system

Apply anything that is still in Upgrade Ready Status on the PMO Add In list in the Administration Tool

Modify the Object XOG files generated prior to the upgrade to only leave the view information in the input file

o
It is best to save the original XOGs intact as a backup and save the modified files with new names for the input XOG.


XOG the object views back in, which will bring all the pre upgrade/install view configurations back in and remove any changes that either of the PMO Apply steps did to the view configurations

At this point they should be able to bring everything back up and start letting users into the system to validate and move forward with the new version.

* these objects are not listed in the Guide as possible items that will get updated. However there are view files for them with the upgrade which can get applied.

Either way, everyone should read the Installation Information Chapter or the Overview Chapter in the Product Guide for the version of the PMO they are either applying or upgrading to before taking ANY action in the UI.

Outcomes