Spencer_Cockrell_39

Deleting Users and Object's Created: parameter Header in V11

Discussion created by Spencer_Cockrell_39 on Jan 9, 2017
Latest reply on Jun 15, 2017 by laura_albrecht_automic
We have had a couple of questions regarding this recently, so I wanted to make a post to address these.

Currently when deleting users, they are placed in the Recycle Bin. This has no effect on the Header tab of objects regarding the "Created:" field until these objects are removed via our Utilities. Once the User has been removed, however, the Header tab will change to display:

 Created: <unknown/unknown> on: Date
Modified: <unknown/unknown> on: Date

There is currently no way to change this out of the box after the objects have been removed. However, one alternative could be to rename the User object itself via right clicking on the object (not via System Overview) instead of removing the user entirely. Once renamed, the User can then be deactivated and you will still have a record of the creating User:

Created: INACTIVE/YOURUSER

Best practices for this (such as where to store inactive users) are at your discretion, but we recommend having a central location to move the Users to who have been deactivated, so as to not cause any clutter among the active Users. 

--

If you have a different solution for this, we'd love to hear it - please post below!

Outcomes