Unknowingly, some users have customized their default view of the Project object, but at the same time we received requests for additional fields and updated field names in the default view of the Project object's filter list, project list, and project properties. This required to do a "publish" so that all users could see the updated fields. This had the undesirable side-effect of overwriting the customized views of some users that they had saved. This seems like a design flaw in the way views are updated unless I am missing something. Is there a way to publish views without compromising any customized views that users already have in place? Or are we forced to ask them to reconfigure their view every time something changes?